Top Ten ICT4D Conferences of 2012

It seems that we need some sort of clearing house for scheduling ICT4D conferences. A quick review of events already announced for 2012 reveals that we have some ICT4D Conference Clashes this year. If you are still planning your event then perhaps consider either avoiding the second half of March and May or maybe piggy-back on someone else’s event – by scheduling in the same town on the days immediately preceding of following an existing event – so that we can reduce the environmental and financial costs of attending international conferences.

Bring on the day when we can enjoy meaningful online participation of any ICT4D conferences. There are some aspects of face-to-face meetings that will never  be equaled online, but given that there are many more conferences happening every year than anyone can afford the time, money or carbon emissions to attend in person, it would be great to have the option of attending some events virtually.

…and this years Top Ten ICT4D Conferences are ….

Feb 28-29th, New Dehli, India: Mobiles for Development

Mar 12-15th, Atlanta, USA: ICTD 2012 – preceded on Mar 10-11th by co-located ACM DEV

Mar 19-23rd, Abuja, Nigeria: Idlelo5 – Free & Open Source Africa

Mar 21-24, Kampala, Uganda: ICT for Africa – eInclusion

May 14-18th, Geneva, Switzerland: WSIS Forum 2012

May 23-25th, Cotonou, Benin: e-Learning Africa

May 29-31st, Lausanne, Switzerland: Tech4Dev 2012

May 29th-Jun 1st, Cape Town, South Africa: Mobile Health Summit

Sep 5-6th, Kristiansand, Norway: IPID 2012 ICT4D Symposium

Nov 13-15th Kathmandu, Nepal: 6th ICT for Development & Education Conference

N.B. This draft, no doubt, contains errors or omissions so please let me know in the comments section below or at @phat_controller on twitter where amendments are required.

Thanks in advance.

About Tony Roberts

Founder & ex-CEO of http://www.computeraid.org/ co-founder & ex-Executive Director of http://www.coda-international.org.uk/ co-founding Trustee http://www.bond.org.uk/ co-Founder & Director of http://www.webgathering.net/ currently PhD student of ICT4D at University of London Gooner
This entry was posted in ICT4D and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Top Ten ICT4D Conferences of 2012

  1. It’s difficult to find educated people about this topic, but you seem like you know
    what you’re talking about! Thanks

  2. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice even as you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a weblog website?
    The account helped me a appropriate deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of
    this your broadcast provided vivid transparent idea

  3. Kirby says:

    Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.

    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure
    things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where
    to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions?
    Many thanks

  4. Charli says:

    If some one desires to be updated with newest technologies afterward
    he must be pay a quick visit this site and be up to date
    everyday.

  5. Mamie says:

    I have learn a few good stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how so much attempt you place to make one of these wonderful informative
    website.

  6. I blog quite often and I genuinely thank you for your content.

    This article has truly peaked my interest.
    I will bookmark your website and keep checking for new information
    about once a week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  7. idkdo.com says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your site.
    You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a
    good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like
    to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an email if interested. Thanks!

  8. Pingback: Top Ten ICT4D Conferences for 2012 | My Personal Wiki

  9. Tony
    Could you please add IDIA to your list of ICT4D websites.
    Later in 2012 we will have our 6th annual international conference, this year in Istanbul, Turkey.
    Regards
    Jacques
    Director: IDIA

    • Tony Roberts says:

      Jacques,
      I would love to add the IDIA event. What dates will the conference happen? Please send me a link to your conference website. I was only able to find information about your 2011 conference when I was writing the blog.
      Tony

  10. Tony Roberts says:

    @Tapan Thanx for the info Tapan – duly updated to reflect – look forward to seeing you there.

    @Spike Nothing so far on my radar in the UK. However those nice people at London #ICT4Dtweetup are planning some great mini-events – so I’m told.

  11. Thanks Tony! Shame that there is nothing in the UK this year! Have you found anything UK-based that didn’t make the ‘top ten’?
    Spike

  12. Tapan Parikh says:

    Dont forget ACM DEV, March 10-11 and co-located with ICTD.

Leave a Reply

